Advice on buying microphones

OllieDuff

I'm currently speccing up a live gig in a university venue, and am debating whether it's cost-effective to just buy the kit (we hire in quite often), but I'm not experienced with a wide enough range of kit to make a judgement. If I were to buy them, the spec would be:

- 3x dynamic vocal microphones

- 1 drum mic set: doesn't have to be all-singing all-dancing, just needs mics for bass, snare and hi-hat (the venue is quite small and drummers are enthusiastic little buggers!)

- Total cost less than £500

The main use cases are live bands and musical theatre, both in a venue which is acoustically tuned for speech. The room's acoustic is not brilliant for music, so they don't need to be super high quality but they do need to be reliable and survive being handled by student musos and sound techs.

Ideally I'd go for Shure across the board (I've had good experiences with PGDMK6 drum mics, including reusing the small PG56s for miking guitar amps, and the SM58 is industry standard), but that would cost almost six hundred pounds from our preferred supplier so I'm looking at cheaper brands. T-bone seem to do some equivalent drum mic sets for less than £200 (the PGD Shure set is £366), but are these actually good value or built down to a price?

What's a decent alternative to an SM58, ideally for less than £80 per unit?

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

AKG D5? Google sugests most places are selling them at 60-70 at the moment (they were more like 50 when I bought mine a few years ago).

this place seem to have them on offer for 45 at the moment.

Not as "industry standard" as the 58, but still a reputable brand if you ever need to meet riders.

As for the quality I prefer them to 58s, get better gain before feedback (flatter frequency response). I personally have 4 now and use them as the house vocal mics for a small venue I supply and generally take them with me when im touring in with a band. Also very nice on sax.