Do I still need my fire curtain?

techy tim

Hi all I've used the blue room alot over the years to find out bits of info about the tech world but this is my first time posting so here goes!

We recently had an insurance inspection at my venue and the fire curtain was found to be faulty so I'm looking for some advice, as to have it fixed is going to cost most of this years tech budget!:blink:

Now I know the old fire regs used to say if you had more than 400 seats you need a curtain (we have 426) but that changed with the 2005 regs and now it comes down to fire risk assessments.

What I need to know is there any information out there to help me show our heath & safty chap that we no longer need the curatin.

any help or advice you can give would be very much appreciated :)

Technical Standards for Places of Entertainment 2009 (AK the yelllow book) may give you some guidance. Quite expensive, but maybe a neighbouring theatre has a copy you could borrow.

I would think you would need to analyse what the function of the safety curtain was in the event of a fire, and make a persuasive case to prove that this function is no longer required and that a fire emergency can be effectively dealt with without one.

I'd also inagine that it might require the involvement of the local authority Planning Department, as it would mean a major variation to the way the building was designed to function. Might be more complex than simply talking to the licensing authority. They might suggest that without the safety curtain, other measures are necessary, such as a sprinkler system, (if you don't already have one) and so on...

E2A I see you work for the council already... not sure if this is a head-start or a stumbling block! :D