Any Flymen/women/people on here?

d.breeze

Hello

I could do with a crash course on the basics of running a fly floor in a theatrical environment. If anyone fancies PMing me with their willingness to answer stupid questions that would be great. I'm a bit of a novice in this field and need to bone up quickly!

Many thanks.

Hmmm...

I suggest you get yourself along to a venue that actually has the type of fly floor you are likely to be looking at and get them to show you the ropes (literally).

BUT bear in mind that this, as in all things, doesn't mean that you'll be a competent flyman after just the one session. Otherwise it really might be a 'crash' course with someone on deck suffering the effects of such a crash...

What are your questions? There's plenty here who know their stuff, and if its done in open forum then the answers are here for the next person :)

I wouldn't call myself a flyman, but I know most of the theory behind running a flyfloor.

What are your questions? There's plenty here who know their stuff, and if its done in open forum then the answers are here for the next person :)

Yeah good point, I went down the PM route because I didn't want to 'litter' the forum with lots of silly questions. But of course that's the whole point!

BUT bear in mind that this, as in all things, doesn't mean that you'll be a competent flyman after just the one session.

I completely agree. I don't necessarily need to become a flyman, and if I did I would of course have to get hands on. I just essentially need to know what one actually does.

So essentially, my question is: on a day to day basis, what does a flyman do? What would the job description for a flyman look like?

I'm sure I will think of lots of other questions to follow people's answers.

Thanks in advance.

edit: I'm knackered and keep typing the wrong words

I just essentially need to know what one actually does.