Lighting books/resources, suggestions please.

AdeCastronovo

Hi everyone,

Im a sound engineer wanting to branch out into lighting. I've had a bit of experience with lighting desks, but I feel I'm lacking an understanding of some of the fundamentals of lighting. Could anyone recommend any good books or resources to get me started?

Many Thanks

I wouldn't bother with books to start with. I'd suggest you find a good local Amdram/ Uni Dram Soc and join it on the technical side and simply join the crew. Often the technical standards of these groups can be astonishing in the face of real difficulties and venue limitations and you'll start learning in a real world situation. Once you've seen how they go about it the very fine books listed in the link will make more sense. Just one thing though - don't allow yourself to get 'hung up' on the equipment side of the books, it's what you are doing with the gear that is important. Beyond that the best 'reading' in my view are art galleries and well lit films - especially those where the DVD offers a commentary by the lighting cameraman. Jeff Jur's contributions to the commentary on Dirty Dancing are very enlightening I think.

Disagree; If I'd read Reid before I started fooling with lights it would have trimmed years off my learning process. I'd have known why I was doing things. But ignoring the equipment side is a good thing to do to start with is good advice.

To be fair, the important bits of Reids work were published as a series of short articles in Tabs magazine back in the day.

... the best 'reading' in my view are art galleries and well lit films...

Also disagree. The arts of lighting for galleries and films are totally different to lighting for the stage. And TV is different yet again.