16amp to 13amp sockets

TheMan

hi peeps!! from my generator I have a 32amp output going to a breaker box with 4x 16amp sockets. I need to convert these 16amps to 13amp sockets.... I was planning on making my own 13amp distribution boards using metal clad sockets with the 16amp input to them. I was just wondering how the 13amp sockets should be connected up... series or parallel?? cheers!

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Of topic a tad, but surely this is something that is covered at Derby? Go and speak to Simon and or Kit? I'm sure they have the electrical knowledge! Well I hope so as they'll be lecturing me next year!

Also, boswell, bit of a stereotype no? I was a student last year and will be next year and I know it's gotta be parallel?! And many of my peers last year would know from GCSE physics!

J

Of topic a tad, but surely this is something that is covered at Derby?

PM already sent to OP ;-)

It does just so happen that portable appliance testing and practical power distribution is the first topic to be covered when teaching starts again in January. BS7671 and BS7909 is covered in year 2. Basic electrical safety is covered as part of induction.

As far as the original question is concerned, did you mean to ask about radial or ring wiring? If so, that would be understandable. If not, ;)

Simon

I assume certain people at Derby will be squirming.