new speakers and amp, will they match ?

vinn-e

hi all,

im new to the forum, im no proffesional at all and have no knowledge of ohms,watts,rms and so on,

im just a living room/home dj / small party's for friends once a year type dj.

I wonder if anyone can avise me on a few bits please, I use a midi dj mixer with my laptop and a external sound card with a line out to my amp, up untill now ive neen using an old home hifi NAD amp and my home hifi wharfdale speakers,

ive now bought some bose 802 mk2 speakers and my misses has bought me a monster 1600w amplifier and I need to know if I can put this amp on these speakers even if I have to have it run at low volume, or will it just melt the system, I will be getting a pair of bose 302 subs to go with this setup later in the year

I will list the specs for amp and speakers below.

BOSE 802 MK 2's (pair) :

Frequency range

55Hz – 16kHz

Active equalization

(with 802C Series II systems controller)

Required

Nominal impedance

8 ohms

Maximum acoustic output

114dB-SPL average, 123dB-SPL peak

Power handling capacity

240W continuous pink noise, 55Hz – 16kHz

Recommended amplifier power

240W minimum, 480W maximum

Sensitivity

Full-range, 91dB-SPL (1W, 1m)

Horizontal beamwidth

120°

==============================

AMPLIFIER SPEC :

Highlights:

* Modern MOSFET technology for up to 2 x 800W max. at 4 ohms (2 x 400W max. at 8 ohms)

* Low rise time and consistent sound quality

* Numerous connection options

* Cool black design with blue LEDs

* Suitable for 19 "/ 48cm Rack - 3 height units

Features:

* Inputs: 1 x stereo RCA, 1 x 6.3 mm jack (stereo)

* Outputs: 1 x XLR (stereo), 1 x PA-Speakon (stereo), 1 x screw-type (stereo)

* Channel adjustable volume (recessed dials)

* LED Meter

* High-performance cooling fan

* Backup

* Frequency response: 20 Hz to 20 kHz

* Distortion:> 0.5%

* Signal-Noise Ratio:> 98dB

* Channel Separation:> 82dB

* Input impedance:> 10dB

* Power supply 230V, 50/60Hz