Inteligent Lighting... Help... please...?

adambattey

Hi Guys and Gals,

I know that this topic is a bit of a taboo/sore point... but I'm going to talk about it anyway...

I am currently working on a production of We Will Rock You in a school hall where I work...[Here's a pic... http://cid-e008af3659c2d9a0.photos.live.co...itorium%202.JPG ]

I have been asked to look into getting some movers to enhance the show and provide a bit of 'wow' to the proceedings... But I'm on a bit of a budget.

Was sent this link by the director... http://www.djstore.com/item/acmisim03.htm but they don't have an automatic focus on them (which puts me off them).

What are your thoughts on the matter - I know that I'm going to get a mixed bag of replies and pro and cons - but that is what I'm looking for as I'm flying blind on this as I've never used movers in before.

Thank you!!

Adam x

So you're looking to BUY movers, for ONE SHOW, that you don't know how to use.....

What desk are you running? can you provide hard (un-dimmed) power to them, do you have a hazer and do you have an existing DMX cabling infrastructure.

I understand the will to get movers in for WWRY, it's the kind of show that lends itself to them (though doesn't need them, lots of PAR cans do pretty well too)

If what you want is beams of light and that "rock and roll" feel, you need a hazer. If you can't get one of them in under your budget, without the fire alarm going off, give up on movers.

I'll second the suggestion of hiring. I'm a bit far north for Sheffield, but the boys at ZigZag in leeds have always been great for this kind of thing.

the movers in schools topic has been done to death, you may have just opened a floodgate!

I'll second the suggestion of hiring. I'm a bit far north for Sheffield, but the boys at ZigZag in leeds have always been great for this kind of thing.