Approaching companies in relation to student projects

I'm currently studying an Event Technology course at uni.

As part of my assignment's this year I will need to contact companies in the industry directly for information. I'm not talking about asking them to do my work for me rather than carrying out my own research; this is where this will be required in order to gain high marks in the assignment and we have been told specifically by our lecturer to carry out this kind of primary research. Here I am talking specifically about:

1. Business assignment; A case study of a business where I will need to approach a company for possibly sensitive information.

2. Sound assignment; where quotes will be needed for a theoretical system (using online/catalouge prices has been advised against).

Personally, I feel awkward bothering companies with this kind of thing as I can understand why this would not be a high priority for them and I would feel the same in their shoes; especially as most companies in the industry do not have dedicated education contacts to deal with this kind of thing. Also; in the case of 2. this would be approaching a company for a quote with no intention of hiring and I feel being upfront about this is more likely to result in no reply or a price list rather than an actual quote.

Just wanted to know what others thought about this kind of thing. I can see that making these kind of contacts is useful practice for working in the industry but do people see this as a reasonable/responsible thing to be asking...or a necessary evil in order to deliver the course properly?

Hi Ben,

I used to be a student on a Stage Management and Technical Theatre course and had to do very similar projects.

A few things I discovered while doing this:

- Local companies to your Uni may be a lot more willing to help.

- Try and find any companies that have close links with the Uni already, or companies that the Uni are big customers of - this again can help.