Can theatre ever be a 'popular' art form?

S.M

This is a topic I am studying to produce a seminar on.

Is theatre outdated by Television as phoneboxes have been by mobile phones or books by the internet with only a few people using their predecessors?

Will theatre ever evolve to be 'of the people' being as popular as television or the british pop charts?

Is theatre too formal? are there too many rules about theatre?

If shakesphere could have staged his plays on television would he have, was he writing for the most popular format of the time?

Was theatre outdated years ago by television and cinema or was it never really that popular at all for its art and only its suitability as a meeting place? Just look at the design of many theatres, they are designed so that people can see each other.

So..... what do you think?

I don't think theatre will be replaced by TV. yet...

It can't be denied that Television is more popular at present, however it just doesn't have the same atmosphere as "going out to the theatre", other than sightseeing, what do most visitors to London/NY do? See a west-end/Broadway show. Top of the pops hasn't replaced rock concerts has it?

Sorry if that wasn't much help.

Thoughts only - Art form & pastime (your topic) are different things. Phone boxes have not been replaced by mobiles nor have books been replaced by the internet . The secret perhaps is to look at the modulation of form against function. Shakespeare may well have written for the populist media though theres no saying that he would be writing for tv today. Examine the point of the art - is it entertainment or education - to suggest that the point of all art is entertainment is wrong not that this is what you are doing. Coronation street on the stage no ta , Lear on Tv, yes please. Did the artform expand its boundaries because of new media available or did it become elitist and marginalised because of the requirement to fill airtime.