TV Monitor for upcoming musical

Humey

Next year we are putting on a performance of Caberet for as the School show. After talks with the director I am looking into buying a flat screen TV for use on night.

The band will be right at the back of the theatre, the conductor with his back to the audience. The director has spoke about have a camera filming the conductor and feeding that live stream to a TV facing the actors. The TV will be up on the balcony, behind the audience...

We also need to purchase the TV and mount it onto balcony fascia..

Is this the easiest way to do it? I have no experience with working on musicals so my background is a disadvantage..does anyone have any suggestions?

Ignoring the fact that having the band _behind_ the audience is going to give you some bizarre audio challenges :-)

Rather than having a big monitor behind the audience, how about having some small monitors (say 15" or thereabouts) mounted in wedges at the front of

the stage, just like monitor speakers.

You might find hire a more cost effective solution. If the screen is at the rear of the auditorium, then a decent sized monitor would be required. A 42" plasma would cost you about £400 to buy then the cost of the bracket and necessary cables, or £117 to rent for 1 day. You'll then also need the camera etc to make it all work.

Best bet is to explain the details to a local AV company or two, and get them to price it up for you. You can then compare the bits that they have quoted for you, and see what the purchase price comes to. If it's a week run, then it might be about the same price as buying the kit, but it might still be significantly cheaper to hire.

Bear in mind too that the rental to should give you a working system, whereas buying the components then puts the onus on you to make a working system out of the bits.