Mac 250s

uglyfish

Hey everyone,

I left my school about a year ago, and when I left, I left behind 10 fully working mac 250s. (6 washes and 4 kryptons.)

I went back to my school Friday and found most of them dead. I'm self taught, so I might not be able to explain everything exactly, but they're connected to a pearl 2004.

When I flick the switches on stage to power them up, all of them respond react. Automatic lamp on is set to off, but through the closed shutter I can see that 4 of them have beams.

When I open the shutters, use the lamp on macro and locate fixtures, only four beams come on.

3 washes go straight to hot every time.

1 krypton says lamp error.

2 kryptons flick very quickly between their DMX addresses and an error message I can't read - it's like the effect you get when you push really hard on a calculator screen. I did get one of them working for about ten minutes before I had to turn all the power off, and if you use it in a playback and then use the playback, it doesn't remember its pan and tilt data, just the gobo and colour.

I'd like to just say it was a case of cleaning the fans and changing the bulbs, but according to the lamp hour times, they haven't been used for more than 1700 hours, and I'm confused as to why some have gone and others haven't. This might be usual, I don't know, and if it is I'll be very relieved. I know for a fact no one else in that school knows how to use the lights, but the switches are at the back of the stage and easily accessible to every student. They look exactly like light switches, and I was wondering if students flicking them on and them flicking them off repeatedly would have caused any damage.