New to LED tape - for an upcoming install

Jamtastic3

Hi BR,

So I've been asked to under light a bar front.

The first thing I thought was a cheap ropelight, but this will burn out eventually in places. So now I turn to LED tape but I'm new to the stuff.

I'm looking to put in red LED tape, no RGB or DMX required, just a simple off and on to give the bar a nice red underlit look. But what do I need and how is it all set-up? I'm guessing a transformer has to come into it somewhere...

Any directions to ideas and products would be great from people who've used LED tape or installed it before.

Cheers!

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The last lot I used was for lighting inside display cabinets, so I imagine it's the sort of stuff you are after...

The product was basically sticky back'd flexible tape with white LEDs spaced about 1 inch apart. It came from CPC (so maybe speak the Chirs Beesley)and was supplied on drums. It could be cut every foot or so and either soldered to another strip or connected to a transformer. We used 12V transformers, although they could be run on 9v and was slightly dimmer.

Oh, and it cost about £40/m....

PM me for any photos or if you are interested in hiring some strip.

HTH

You want rigid or flexible, if flexible which way?

waterproof or not bothered?

Price varies by density usually quoted at LEDs per m , 30 per m upwards usually for flexible tapes. Go a lot higher density in rigid.

Most flex tapes are smd wide angle LED which is short throw, <500mm. Rigids cn use more focused LEDs with greater density and longer throw.

Need a 12V D.C. LED driver or regulated low current source not an L.V. lighting trafo someat like

http://www.screwfix.com/prods/85503/Lighti...0DRIVER-_-85503

Put +led tape into a google UK search, it might help -_-

Yes yes I did :).