Banned from Venue with no reason.

StephenC

I worked as a casual technician for over 3 years at my local council owned theatre.

Two years ago I made a complaint about the way the technical department was being run, we had a new tech Manager who was trying his best but being told what to do by the Artistic Director, I ended up doing to many hours for the councils working time policy so the technical manager reduced my hours to fit there policy, this meant I lost out on over 30 hours worth of pay. I said the time sheet needed fixing before pay day or I wont accept any more work.

No pay so I cancelled one call I had and refused any more. I also sent in am email to all technicians and the Artistic Director explaining why I was not coming in any more and also saying how they should fix things. Having inexperienced staff as Duty Technician or people who can only operate a spot on a build.

I was told that they would go through my comments and get back to me, Instead I got a P45 and am now being told I can never work at the theatre again.

I am now Technical Manager on a Tour which visits that venue in a couple fo weeks, my director had had a call from the Artistic Director (Now also the theatre director) saying he wont let me work on the production which leaves me and my company problems of how to produce a show when I’m there technician.

Any advice on how I can get back into the theatre to do this show. Surely he can’t be the man who has all the power. Is there any thing I can do.

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply
I also sent in am email to all technicians and the Artistic Director...

You have managed to dig your own grave, you never have the right to email round like this and you are lucky as they could have seen the email as liable and sued you. Also could have seen it as deformation of character about the other people you were talking about.