To cue from score or not to cue from score?

I am SMing a Musical comming up very shortly and as there is no DSM I am also calling the show! Anyway I was wondering if I should cue from the score or not??

I have never done this before but can just about read music, but am by no means any expert.

So what are peoples views- should I or should I not cue from the score??

Sam

It really depends on a lot of factors - not least of which, how well you can read the score - its one thing to be able to read music to a certain grade, but you may find that the score is very difficult to follow.

If you do choose to follow the score, its best to follow a libretto rather than a full orchestral score, but make sure you're familiar with any discrepancies between the libretti and the orchestral version - sometimes the orchestral version will produce very different sounding music, which its important to know and possibly note in your libretto.

Which musical is it? Some are easier to follow in the score than others.

A side note - The SMA run a course on score reading - see here for more information.

Hope this helps.

Peter

I am SMing a Musical comming up very shortly and as there is no DSM I am also calling the show! Anyway I was wondering if I should cue from the score or not??

I have never done this before but can just about read music, but am by no means any expert.

So what are peoples views- should I or should I not cue from the score??

Sam

Yes, probably.

It's probably a safe bet that, unless your musical is unusually light on LX cues, there will be quite a few that happen over fairly lengthy instrumental passages (e.g. dance numbers). If you're calling it from a script how are you going to notate cues like this in a sufficiently precise way if you don't have any music to refer to?