Apprenticeships, are there such things for this industry?

Aaron-Hill07

It's coming to the time of year when I have to be making decisions about college/work and all the rest of it and I've been doing a lot of thinking recently about what direction to go in.

I know that experience is the key in this industry and nothing can teach you the ropes better than actually doing it, I'm hoping to go into the industry as a career as a lighting technician for example. I have got some experience doing it in the past, but I am very aware that it is nowhere near enough to be able to get a job straight away.

I'm in the position where I have a place in a few colleges doing music related courses (Music Technology & Music Performance) as I am a musician myself.

BUT I have been thinking, is there anywhere that offers apprenticeships and if so, where? I believe apprenticeships are a great way to go as your getting the experience and learning at the same time which is the perfect situation for me as that's the way I learn best, I can't stand sitting in classrooms learning about it for two years then coming out the other end with no experience actually doing what I've learnt.

So, the question is do you guys/girls know any companies that offer apprenticeships/trainee positions or do you offer them yourselves?

Thanks for taking the time to read this & I appreciate any help/guidance you will hopefully give me!

They are trainee technician posts (or there have been, they may now have been axed because of the 'credit crunch') in some venues but you may have to move. Scour The Stage (www.thestage.co.uk) for job information. Write a personal statement and get careers people to read it.

Badger the local venue for casual work. You may not hear from them for ages, but when that phone call comes drop everything and run. Often times the phone will only ring once!