Amateurs....

Bryson

Hello everyone. Had a really really dispiriting experience today and I just needed to share it, partially to get some sympathy, and partially to try and give some pointers to any amateur people out there about how not to do it.

We had our local amateur group's representative in today to tell us about the show at the end of the week. He started badly on the phone when he called to say he was coming:

My colleague, Tim, answered the phone, our friend (lets call him...Sonny) begins thus:

Sonny: "Is Bryson there?"

Tim: "No, sorry, can I be of help?"

Sonny: " I wanna talk to Bryson, he's the technician we deal wiv."

Tim: "He's not here at present, but I can help you."

Sonny: "Wot? Are you a technician as well?"

Now: Bad start: Note number one:

The venue technicians are not technicians. You may call yourselves what you wish, but I am a technician. ABTT does not stand for Association of Theatre technicians. My ID card says: Technician, not technician. Grant me just a tiny little bit of repect.

Finally, Tim arranged for him to come in a bit later that afternoon to discuss his requirements. Some time passed, and eventually Sonny arrived.

(Now: A bit of background: we have a Multi-purpose space, so we have to build raked seating every time we use it - supremely dull)

Sonny noticed that the rake had been built.

Sonny: "Oh, good, you've built the rake for us."

Bryson: "No, sorry, this was actually for the event yesterday. We've got to take it down later today. We'll rebuild it on Thursday."

Sonny: "Well, anyway, it's in the wrong place." (The rake is only ever in the same place every time we build it - it's the only way to fit in our capacity)

Bryson: "Pardon? In what way?"

Sonny: "We need room for someone to climb up the back of it and enter the audience that way."