Microphones for positioning system.

Wol

Hi all,

My first post in the sound section, so don't shout at me if I'm not making loads of sense! This isn't linked directly to theatre / events, but I feel that the sound section is the best area to put this post in!

As part of a group design project at uni, we're making a system to calculate positions of sound sources using a microphone array. Were having to make the audio capture hardware as part of the project, but as I'm usually hanging around the lighting forum on here, I'm not that experienced in what kind of microphones would be useful for this application.

We'll ideally need something with a fairly good response for vocal frequencies, as we might end up having to do voice recognition to be able to discriminate between different people talking. Also needs to have a fairly wide pickup range, possibly omnidirectional, dependent on microphone position in the array, but possibly some form of cardioid.

We'll be looking at getting about 6 mics to provide good positioning information, so they can't be that expensive to buy. We don't have an exact amount of how much budget we have available, as we're going to have to get a development board in, which is fairly expensive, so we would usually have to put a case in to buy in extra pieces for the project.

Any help would be appreciated, and if you need to know anything specific, or if I've missed something obvious out, then let me know!

Thanks in advance.

I would say the best thing would be a linear reference mic. if you want to workout distances and postions, this is a hard one. you will need a system like what they use for finding mobile phones. You will need to triangulate it. so three mics around you area. Im sure someone else can throw in some ideas.