Small speakers

revbobuk

Has anyone listened to the JBL control 1 alongside the Studiospares and/or Behringer clones? I need a couple of speakers to cover a small room which is used to extend a larger room, and I've used the Behringer 1C before (in a school) with good results. The Studiospares BG205 looks like the same speaker - and the JBL is twice the price of the other two. And I guess they're all made in the same factory in China. So has anyone compared them side-by-side? I'd be interested to know...

First off, I am no sound expert, and this could just be a bad case of badge snobbery, but having listened to both the Behringer 1C and the original JBL control One I went for the Control One, the Behringer just sounded a little thin, especially at the lower end, for such a small size the JBL output is quite impressive. the Behringer was also a very lightweight unit compared with the JBL and just didn't feel as well built. But then again you do really have to look at the retail price of each of the units. Regarding price, Behringers come in at about £30 a pair, the JBL list price is just over the £100 mark. If you can cope with a the silver finish Richer sounds are currently offering the JBL's for £49 a pair (silver only) -HERE-

I must add that when I was looking at for mine, only the JBL's were available in white (even more expensive), which was a deciding factor, and what enabled me to convince the wife of the additional money spent, as these speakers spend most of their life rigged in the kitchen.

Just to second something Neil writes above. I've bought both JBLs and "Look-A-Likes". Not sure where they came from, but clones they are NOT. Very lightweight, hard plastic, totally unlike to 'soft' feel on the JBLs, and the sound is thin too. OK for what I wanted as it happens, but not a patch on the Control 1.