The ultimate summer job...

indyld

Hi all,

As mentioned in a previous thread, On Stage Lighting has an interesting story about an 18 year old school leaver who is going to Glasters with a major lighting supplier. The article finds out how he got such a cool summer job and we be will giving him a grilling when he gets back to let us know how he got on in the lighting crew at a major festival.

Glastonbury 2008 - Dream Summer Job

In the meantime, as discussions as to what a lucky bugger he is can be held here at the Blue Room or you can leave him a message at OSL.

Cheers

The article finds out how he got such a cool summer job

That's easy - the article is quite clear on that. He demonstrated a willingness to learn (i.e. he didn't go steaming in with the "I'm only 17 but I'm a lighting programmer" mindset) ; he listened to, and took, advice ; he proved himself to be reliable ; and he had the right attitude to fit in with a professional lighting crew. It's those things that almost certainly set him apart from many of the young contributors to this forum, and will give him the opportunity to get the kind of good solid start in the business that some people have almost certainly denied themselves by virtue of what the internet tells us about them. A salutary lesson for everyone there, I think - and best of luck to Josh in his career.

The public liability insurance is what interests me in the article...such as how much does it cost and how do you go about getting it - Time to search the blueroom!

Im all for the if you dont ask you dont get and have got a couple of jobs just through phoning up and asking...such as my summer job :D

Steve

The public liability insurance is what interests me in the article...such as how much does it cost and how do you go about getting it - Time to search the blueroom!