AMX to DMX assistance

zaleave

I am a noise girl by trade so all you uber advanced lampies don't shoot me for this question!

We have an Accent 3 AMX unit that controls (partly) our house-light system. The issue is that every incoming company (quite rightly) whines as they can't control the lights via the lighting desk and have to actually do some work by pushing one button on a remote control unit.

Is it possible to get a DMX style unit to tie the 2 together? ie. buy / make an interface that would allow me to plug a DMX cable in the one side and wire into the AMX unit from the other and bob's your transvestite auntie? (of sorts)

If anyone wants a mental challenge or equally wants to show off their massive brain and ego by just knowing things, please answer my post!!

Many thanks in advance!

:)

If it is the AMX system I am thinking about, then that is just a controller system. If you find out what dimmers run your houselights it may be possible they can be controlled by DMX natively. That way you would just need to run a DMX lead to them and give the tech the DMX address so he can patch his desk.

Just an idea to start you off.

You can definitely do it IIRC we did the same thing in our theatre at school but we were controlling analogue dimmers through DMX. I will drop a line to some old contacts and see if they have the diagrams!

Chris

You can definitely do it IIRC we did the same thing in our theatre at school but we were controlling analogue dimmers through DMX. I will drop a line to some old contacts and see if they have the diagrams!

Chris

however, that may have been 0-10V analogue and not AMX which is a different protocol. DMX to analogue demuxes are easy to come by!

Problem here is terminology; Say AMX to a Lampie and he'll think you are talking about a lighting control protocol called AMX192, much like when one says DMX one means DMX512. (pet hate note)