UV Lamps

gav8298

I'm looking into hiring some UV light for use in a dance show I'm managing.

I've never used it before and am wondering about any experience you peeps have had with it- I'm looking to light a peice where the dancers are all in black except for white gloves. Do you reckon I'll be able to acheive the effect of not being able to see the rest of their bodies by using just UV in a blackout?

Any advice is as always much appreciated.

(I hope to get to the stage when I'm able to hand it out instead of ask for it all the time- bear with me!)

Gav

Gav

There is, I'm sure, a fair bit of discussion in past posts (have a search of the BR or try our Wiki), but the very basic things to consider are:

Have as total a blackout as you can manage, with all off-stage light sources switched off or guarded against spill onto stage.

Hire (or buy) a small UV source, and experiment in the dark with the materials you're planning to use. NOT all white material will fluoresce under UV, for example, and some coloured fabrics will appear brighter than many whites.

Washing fabrics in certain washing powders will increase the fluorescence considerably - Daz is one trade name as I recall that will do this.

Choreographing dance routines in UV is trickier than many inexperiences dance teachers realise. In my opinion, too much twirling about with maybe 2D UV aspects can spoil a good routine, meaning that half the time the bit that you want to see is hidden as they turn.

That said, there is a lot that can be done by intentionally hiding the UV elements from the audience where appropriate. A simple example I've seen done very well is a line of dancers with UV masks. One by one in time to the music they turned around, thus blacking out their face. Then they turned back one by one. Then they turned about in groups - guess you can see where I'm going with that :D