Returning to work in technical theatre

Sarah Q

Couldn't find anything in the search function...

I have been working in the "real" world for six months now. For a variety of reasons I had decided to take a break from the industry and do something different for a while. Now I feel the time has come to return to technical theatre, but don't know how to put the best spin on my career break and not put off potential employers by seeming flighty or non committed.

What is the best way to deal with this issue in an application/interview situation?

Any feedback gratefully received...

I wouldn't worry over much about the break.

Just be honest - say that you needed a change of direction for whatever reasons, but make it clear that you're back on the theatre treadmill now.

If your CV can demonstrate your pas experiences well, then you should have no worries with anyone picking up on a 6 month gap.

Heck, as I understand it, techs can, like actors, have 'dry spells' can they not...??

;)

What 'real world' job did you do and does it relate to theatre in any way?

I work as a Technical Services Advisor for Debenhams, which involves basic maintenance of the store (plumbing, electrics, carpentry, decorating etc.) and all the Health & Safety aspects in store. For jobs that I cannot do, I organise contractors to attend. There is also a large amount of statutory paperwork to be done, such as maintaining PAT records, Lift Safety certificates...

As said it looks like good experience and will be OK on a CV, but you do have to be able to say why you stopped working in theatre and why you now want to come back as you will be asked this at interview.

Once this job starts to move down you CV it will become less relevant so do you have any contacts who will give you work (get ins, clearing out the prop store etc.) however short term and menial, so that this is not at the top of the list.