JB DMX scanners

Joe Bleasdale

hi guys,

im a student at school and am currently trying to persuade our technical manager to buy:

4 x JB DMX scanners (flat mirrors)

1 x sweetlight usb

and the necassary cables

I wanted to use the scanners as specials and colour washes, would this work by running it straight off sweetlight?

thanks

joe

Can you give a link to the exact model of scanner you are talking about?

Please, use the search function, search for "school moving light". 99% of the time we do not recommend that schools get intelligent lighting in. Take a look at those threads, and try and convince us that your situation is different.

David

Simply, yes the sweetlight usb will output DMX on 3pin XLR, which will plug into the back of the first scanner. Personally though I wouldn't want to use sweetlight, as I've never found PC controllers to be as easy as a proper desk. However, this is a matter of choice and you may well like it.

However, before you push to get these, consider the cost, and whether they will really be worth it. There are hundreds of topics on here about schools buying automated fixtures, but the general gist is that in most cases it isn't worth it.

Have you factored in a budget for repairs etc?

When you leave, are the lights going to lose their use, or will there be people to takeover?

Apart from the ability to move, what do these do that you can't do better (and cheaper) with a selecion of generics?

Another thing you haven't spoken about is the intended use. For live music events, or theatre? If it is for theatre, then these will undoubtedly be much to noisy to be used without interupting the performance.

Hope this helps you consider whether they will really be worth investing in.

Edit:beaten to it...

1) That's only 2 moving mirrors, the "rover" fixtures are a beam effect so they are useless for what you require.

2) The Winners do not have a dimmer channel, so really they are a bit limiting especially for drama or for theare work