Measurement and number

Ekij

We're getting well http://www.btinternet.com/~boxzone/Other/Smilies/Smilie_Offtopic.gif however ...

Perhaps this should be in Pet Hates, but I really dislike it when [news articled] give figures in two units without applying common sense. They need to learn about significant figures and orders of magnitude. I can't find an example at the moment but an example might be, "Fred Bloggs cycled a total distance of 3000 miles (4828km) in his epic journey.". Now, I'm no expert but Fred wouldn't have cycled exactly 3000 miles so converting it to 4828km is just unnecessarily precise - in that instance, why not say 4800km?

I actually 'reported' this as an error to the BBC once and had a short discussion with the journalist who wrote the article who just couldn't understand what I was saying. I gave up in the end :)

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply
I've always looked on these kind of articles as material designed for early teens to read - kind of technical comic copy. We're only complaining because we know, the people who don't, will be better informed than they were. My friend is a physiotherapist and she often uses middle school biology material with colourful diagrams to explain to her patients what she is doing, when the professional material is simply far too complex, and unnecessarily so. Some poor journo gets asked to produce copy, gets a graphic type to draw it, and simplify it and voila, we've seen the result. We've all seen the diagrams of how a nuclear power station works - and I bet the 'nuclear power station engineer' forum finds plenty wrong with those!

I think possibly Ekij, you have to remember that said journalists are writing articles for the general public, who have no knowledge whatsoever of this industry. And their articles reflect that ( as does their knowledge!)

Conversion of units does not require a knowledge of any industry. It requires a little common sense.