colouring Smoke machine liquid

Noise Boy Sam

I you put colouring in the dry ice liquid does it make the smoke come out that colour?

ie. blue, red

Simple answer....

NO.

The CO2 fog is generated from the reaction between the solid Carbon Dioxide and the heat from the water.

There's no way that any colour from the water will transfer to the mist.

Your best way of colouring the fog is with lighting - possibly low-level lights thru the fog.

Do you mean smoke or dry ice? As they are very different things. Smoke is made by a machine burning a fluid and pumping the exhaust out onto stage, dry ice is the evaporated form of CO2 and quite dangerous to handle if care is not taken. That aside I've never heard of colourant being added DIY style to smoke fluid and I wouldn;t recommend it. As for Dry Ice, I have to say I'm not experienced enough with it to offer advice, although my gut tells me that adding colourant wouldn't work because it wouldn't behave like the CO2.

As a solution, if you are using a smoke machine, I would try a search for a pre-coloured compatible smoke fluid, I'm sure you aren;t the first person to want it. :D

As a solution, if you are using a smoke machine, I would try a search for a pre-coloured compatible smoke fluid, I'm sure you aren;t the first person to want it. :D
Again, there is NO coloured smoke fluid available, or desirable, aas any colourant would likely cause a blockage in the workings of the majority (if not all) machines.

Again, this topic has been discussed before - SEARCH is your friend!

Do you mean smoke or dry ice? As they are very different things. Smoke is made by a machine burning a fluid and pumping the exhaust out onto stage,

To be pedantic there is no such thing as a 'Smoke' machine.

From wikipedia...

Smoke is a suspension in air (aerosol) of small particles resulting from incomplete combustion of a fuel.