Absolute beginner in need of advice / reassurance!

suziedance76

I am a Head of Performing Arts in a secondary school and our school show goes up next week.

For various reasons I have landed the unenviable task of rigging and operating lights despite being far more comfortable IN the spotlight rather than responsible for them!

Crash course in rigging lanterns, replacing lamps etc and basic patching has resulted in a stage that looks OK when everything in on 'TEST'.

Tricky part is the desk.

We have a Sirius 48 with no memory card.

It looks to me like I need a DMX 5 pin male to 5 pin male cable as there is a 5 pin socket hardwired at the back of the auditorium. I can't seem to find anything to connect the flipping thing to the lights!!!!

There is male to female cable (5 pin at both ends) and some 3 pin cables.

Also we have a 3 to 5 adaptor but I can't remeber if its male or female?!

Meant to be teching tomorrow to any advice on how to connect it and get it talking to lights would be great.

Also do I need the memory card?? Bit paranoid about losing everything if I ever get to program it!

Have found useful guides and step by steps on the web so have half a clue what to do once it is alive ....

Any help appreciated!!

erm ...

am I bonkers to even be contemplating plugging anything in?!

the lights are controlled by 'dimmers'. The dimmers distribute the power to all the lights, giving you the intensity you need. It's these dimmers that the DMX must be connected to from the desk - and probably where that socket goes to in the auditurium. So I suggest just plugging it in and see'ing what happens - it will probably work!

As Jon said, the socket at the back probably links to the dimmers. And by the sound of it, you have the necessary cables - the 5 pin to 3 pin adaptors are most likely there to use 3 pin extensions to place the desk in other places of your auditorium......

First of all my sympathies to you for being dropped in to this position!