Hazer / Singers / Smoke machines

Rocket

Hi everyone,

I'm supposed to be doing a gig this Friday in a pub for quite a well known local band - I'm actually doing it as a freebie because their drummer is a good mate of mine and has helped me out and lent me plenty of kit over the past few years (I'm a drummer myself).

But chatting with him yesterday and discussing Friday, I suddenly mentioned the use of the hazer. At which point:

'No smoke. Singer won't have it for his voice.'

'It's not smoke - it's a haze. There won't be a lot, and it makes the lights look incredible in comparison to without'.

'No smoke. He won't have it'.

Not exactly that but more or less along those lines - he seems adamant that it cant be used.

Now has anyone any experience and can anyone confirm whether it can actually affect a singers voice a great deal? I could understand his problem with clouds of smoke drifting everywhere, but it's just haze to help pick up the lights. I've never had a problem from singers before and it never seems to have bothered them.

Whats amusing is that the gig is in one of the smokiest pubs I know...it's not like he wont be breathing in second hand cigarette smoke all night!!

So has anyone any idea how much truth is in the claim that it can affect voices?

EDIT: Sorry....wrong forum again

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Just my thoughts:

• Pavarotti sings with haze.

• It's a smoky environment - that'll do much more damage to his voice than haze ever could.

• Does he drink? That'll damage his voice more than haze.

The haze will dry his throat out a little. But if he's singing then that'll do that more so. If it's a smoky environment and you use the hazer judiciously, I doubt he'd be able to tell you which is which.

I suspect he needs a swift education on the differences between haze and smoke. Or perhaps it's just your drummer boy.

I'm dating an opera singer, fwiw.

Mark.

'No smoke. Singer won't have it for his voice.'