Monitor Desk and FOH Desk

tom_the_LD

Hi

In future shows at school I would like to have one desk for monitors and one desk to control the FOH mix. However I have never done this before! The desks are 2 spirit folio SXs'. How would I go about doing this? having everything going into the monitor desk then taking the main mix from this into a stereo channel on the FOH desk? although the trouble with this is that I can only have the same levels as on the monitor desk and can't adjust them (ie not have low kick on monitors and the high kick coming out in the FOH) or is there something else I can do where every channel is controlable from both desks? I hope you understand what I mean!!

Much help in advance

Tom

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Normally you would split the signal at stage end so that all stage lines are doubled. One set goes to monitor desk and the other, usually via a multicore, goes to FOH.

Split can be active or passive. Normally this will be in the form of a stagebox to allow patching, but you can achieve this via Y-splits on the monitor desk or direct channel outs if it has this facility.

Outputs from sends on monitor desk go to monitor amps/wedges, usually via graphics (or graphics are inserted on the sends).

L&R output from FOH goes direct to PA (again, usually via graphics to controller)

The only real snag with the folios, when pressed into service like this is that some are a little short on auxes in the first place, so will you be any better off, control wise? The good thing is that you can eq specifically for your monitors. The channel fader on the one used for monitors isn't really that handy as the individual mixes have to be done on the quite small aux pots, which are not the easiest to find. Depending on the exact folio, I would try to find some way of marking the pots - masking tape on the top, then highlighter pen makes them stand out better in rows.

Thanks for the help.