Further Education...

Hello

Haven't posted on here in awhile. Hope all are well.

Just wanted to ask a few questions, I'm sure you get this a lot and hope you will be able to answer.

My current situation: I'm in my last year of sixth form, studying drama and media. I have just applied for University to study a 3 year course of Lighting design.

My Question: Has anyone here gone and studied lighting design? If yes do you think it is worth it at the end of it, or are you better off gaining your own experience via amateur theatres etc... ?

Also a close friend of mine, had trouble getting work as a technician in the last 20 years as he didn't actually have a qualification in electrics, but knew all the 'stuff' and had a BA(hons) in lighting design? Is it vital nowadays to have a qualification in electrics or do most courses included the minimal education of electrics required to make a career?

Hopefully that makes sense. I would greatly appreciate any information regarding what direction to go after sixth form.

Thanks alot.

Hi there Andy,

I'm currently doing a 3 year lighting design degree at Rose Bruford, I chose this root because I felt I wasn't ready to go out there in the big wide world of theatre just yet. I felt I needed to develop my technical skills even further and to get contacts even though I've worked in professional theatre before and done some freelance work. Having been here for about 5 weeks, I'm loving every bit of it, sometimes it can be heavy going in terms of talking in depth about whether lighting design is a art? etc but its good fun and the work load is not heavy at all..yet. Its all about experimentation here, if you go wrong, so what, you learn from it where as if your in the industry and do something wrong then sometimes its hard to get the jobs but I suppose this will always be the case. I know quite allot of people who have completed the degree and they have gone on to do big scale shows, tours, relights etc and have become well known.