Which shade of pink ?

mal421

I'm lighting a well known comedian soon and the rider asks for a follow spot and a 4 colour wash of red,blue,magenta and pink . I will be using 106 Primary Red , 113 Magenta and 119 Dark Blue because I have those colours . There are so many shades of pink to choose from and my question is which shade would be best ? I'm thinking of using 128 Bright Pink . I've become a lampie by accident so I'm still learning and so far have never had to use pink so I cannot visualise it.

It's going to need to be a strong pink to mix with the other colours (face-light taken care of by the follow-spot) so I think your choice of 128 is a good start. However, it's not that far away from 113. How about 126 instead? Strictly speaking not pink (mauve) but as near as makes no difference and it will mix a lot better with the others.

Dependent on exactly what you're doing with those other colours, and what lanterns you're using them in, I think you might be going a bit too dark with them. They'd be OK as backlight colours in parcans or 2Ks, but probably a bit too saturated for top/front light - think about using some lighter colours for the light coming more from the front. Oh, and for pinks I'd go for 111 for a lighter option or 128 for a darker one.