Sepia tone

floyd99

Hi guys

wizard of oz... we want the kansas scenes to be bland and sepia (like the movie), so the transition to oz is more effective when we go lollypop colours.

I'm thinking of using L103 Straw for the standard warm wash, to be used throughout the show. At this stage I won't be putting in a cool wash.

For the sepia, I was thinking of adding L156 Chocolate in side light for a start, and possibly throw in a backlight wash of Chocolate as well -- using MultiPars.

Does anyone have an opinion if this will be sufficient -- I've never used Chocolate before , will it look ok in multipars?

cheers

I've used it with regular CP62's, as sidelight, and it was rather dull, but then I didn't use straw front light.

I'll be using Strand SL profiles for the sidelight

Doing it with just lighting will look rubbish. Really rubbish. Talk to costumes and sets and get them to help by choosing a limited pallette of colours for their designs.

Yep, that'll be taken care of... scenic designer is awesome.

Aside: There are some very effective UV reactive paints which will brighten up Munchkin Land and make the difference between the two scenes more evident.

Lee make a Brown 746, it comes out well but needs a lot of light behind it.

Liam

Edit : To compensate for slow typing.

Doing it with just lighting will look rubbish. Really rubbish. Talk to costumes and sets and get them to help by choosing a limited pallette of colours for their designs.

Yep, that'll be taken care of... scenic designer is awesome.

I've recently done a Wizard of Oz, and I also thought that costumes and sets were the way to do this. We also saved the main stage for Munchkinland, doing the limited, early Kansas stuff on an apron or floor of the hall.

thanks for all your input.

I think I'll go with the original idea of throwing some chocolate in the side light, as I'll be able to re-use that during the spooky forest scenes in Act 2, and leave the rest of it to scenic.