storing Dry Ice

OB2

Hi, I was wondering how people store dry ice?

we're doing a production of champion of paribanou and using dry ice, granted it is only for about 45 seconds of the show however we need to keep the dry ice for a week, we have a freezer but just a domestic chest freezer, I could be saying this and be completely wrong about keeping it in a freezer, im quite new to it all, I have used dry ice before but not had to worry about storing it, it was just in a chiller pack thing and used it straight from that, sooo any help would be useful

also for about 4 performances and 4 runs each with about 1 min constant dry ice, how much would we need? the supplier I've found does it in 10K bags (although it works out cheaper at 20K?????

any help would be greatly recived!

• Replies 46
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The best way of storing Dry Ice is in a domestic chest freezer, I would however you over estimate the amount you need as it has a very limited shelf life even in a freezer - if you think you need 10Kg order 40Kg and keep it.

Either that or plan 2 deliveries 1 at the beginning of the week 20Kg, and then another delivery on Wednesday for the rest of the week

Usual Health & Safety wear gloves when using Dry Ice, don't try and lick it etc.. etc...

Oh yeah and no dry ice bombs

Regards

thats good to know, but now the question is how much would I need??

That really depends on how much effect you are producing I know you say that it's only for I minute, but that could be 1minute of a gentle flow or 1 minute of dense low level fog

I would suggest you do some tests to answer that question and then multiply it by the amount of nights and then probably double it if you plan to make 1 order and store it

Regards

The best way of storing Dry Ice is in a domestic chest freezer......

IMPORTANT CORRECTION TO THE ABOVE STATEMENT....!

DON'T EVER STORE DRY ICE IN A WORKING DOMESTIC FREEZER!

IT WILL DAMAGE THE FREEZER - NO QUESTION!!!