Sand And Stones Problems

yandust

I am a student. I am going to use sand and stone on the satge. Can anyone kindly tell me that:

1. What prblems will sand and stones create?

2. How they affect the perfomer like singers, dancer and actors?

3. Are they needed to be treated before use?

4. How to strike them out (esp. sand. using vaccum cleaner?)

Sand can be a problem because of the slip hazard and can burn dancers feet.

Stones dependant on size may present a trip or fall hazard / stubbed toes.

Sand will never ever get completely removed from your venue, it will be there for life!

I have never treated sand or stones prior to use except one show where the sand was glued to a floorcloth as an effect!! (don't ask me why)

Sand is best having a floorcloth underneath, remove as much as possible with a brush and shovel, then brush again, and again, and again........... when you have most of it up a good mop will attempt to remove some of what's left.

Just my experience of these matters

Owen

I'm sure you've thought of this, but be sure to get something like playpit sand or builders sand....I've heard of someone (illegally) just digging up part of a beach and ending up with all kinds of unpleasant creatures crawling out of the sand later. You also need to think about whether you mind the sand being wet - you'll need to get dried if you don't.

It did strike me when I was out earlier - would your production suffer from the sound of people walking over stones during the show?

I mean with a loud rock gig this will not be a problem but a quiet wordy drama might go something like this:

Gardener enters stage left to find the lady of the manor singing.

Lady: traa laa laa (crunch crunch crunch)

Gardener: Morning marm.

Lady: Hello don't let me stop you gardening with your large wheel barrow, I will stay here and sing a little... lllaaaa laaa laa

Gardener : Fanks awfully (crunch crunch crunch, squeak squeak squeak.)