Adaptor Hire

Guest mattladkinlx

Guest mattladkinlx

Hi there,

I am looking to use a LCD projector for a forthcoming show I am involved in (I am a student lighting designer so do not have much experience with video projection). The only problem is that (for some unknown reason!) the projector does not have a VGA input, instead it has BNC, composite RCA and S Video. I need to use my VGA output on my laptop to run a presentation so what I am asking is

1. Can I hire an adaptor from VGA to any of the above (or all!)

2. How much is it?

3. Where can I hire it from?

Any advice greatfully welcome,

Thanks

Matt Ladkin

Hey Matt

I know it no actually what your asking... but you can get a VGA to BNC for £20 in maplins.... Just thought it could be a bit better then Hiring.

Ben

Must be quicker next time

As the others have said, if it is a higher end machine it will have the 5 BNCs. BUT I'd be surprised if a machine with RGBHV BNC input didn't have a D-Sub VGA style input.

If it has a DVI input this may well be capable of accepting a VGA input on the analogue inputs.

It might be worth doing a Google on the machines specs to see if the other features are worth using (Brightness..). If not then it might be worth hiring a different machine.

If you need to use the machine and it has no Data input, then a scan convertor should cost about £25/day ex VAT.

The majority of laptops have an S-Video (4-pin mini-DIN connector) output or a composite output, although some require a special cable to get these from an odd connector (usually mini-DIN with a strange number of pins).

Obviously this limits your resolution to PAL/NTSC standards (roughly 800x600), but it will work fine.

Otherwise, there are two options:

My best guess would be that the projector has five BNC connectors, with RGBHV labels. This is a way to send a VGA signal much further than a standard D-sub cable can manage, and suitable adapter cables are available from many suppliers.