Buying small PA System

miniquinny

Hi,

This is my first time posting on here, and this question might be too simple for some people to bother with but I would appreciate absolutely any help at all!

Basically, a friend and I want to do some gigging around Manchester in bars, hotels, restaurants, weddings etc. playing jazz, blues etc., so the venue size will vary from 50 to maybe 300 people. He plays piano and I sing and play tenor sax.

He is going to buy an electric piano and a Roland 100W amp and so I wanted some advice on a smallish PA system that would be suitable to either just support vocals and sax, using the Roland amp for the piano, or a system which incorporates support of the piano with/without the use of the Roland.

I have looked on a few sites and seen the Phonics RoadGear 260, Carlsbro Traveller and the likes, but also some systems put together by the shop itself, such as:

http://www.stagebeat.co.uk/product.php?pro...pa_package_400w

The budget is about £500/£600 and basically, as I am not, yet, technically minded and a novice at the equipment side of things, I am after some advice/opinions as to how large a system to buy, wattage, brands, technical bits/specs to look out for and so on.

Thanks in advance to anyone who replies. :(

Alex

• Replies 41
  • Created
  • Last Reply

first, welcome!

secondly, there is another topic at the moment about buying a smallish PA here

which may be useful, personally I wouldnt buy the amp for the piano separate, I'd use the money to invest into the PA system and power them all through that which will allow you to change your levels more easily,

also I'd go for a separate mixing desk rather than one built into the amp (mainly personal preferance for me I'll admit)