PC based control or lighing desk control, which?

runciblespoon

Hi, I look after all the lighting equipment in a school with 5 theatres. Currently all of them are equipped with normal DMX consoles, but these are getting to the point of needing to be replaced.

The Drama teachers want to replace them with PCs running a programme called PC Stage, as they contend this will be both cheaper and more flexible.

Sadly I have no experience with PC based lighting control systems, and feel the need of some advice in this area.

Do any of you have any thoughts as to whether it is better to work with "normal" lighting desks, or with a PC, or is there really no difference in the degree of control and flexibility between the two systems?

Any comments would be very welcome.

Tony Cole

• Replies 64
  • Created
  • Last Reply

As a PCStage evangelist, it would be remiss of me not to say go for it!

On the other hand..... I'm normally wary of suggesting PC based anythings in these types of circumstances, based on the fact we're dealing with teachers and yewts... Particularly teachers, who tend to be not very with it on PCs and things... But, if the teachers want it, and have put the effort in, then that consideration is wiped out. Their logic is not wrong, you do get ridiculous bang for the buck, and PCStage does huge amounts more than just operate lighting.

Of course, it prepares said yewths for a lifetime of disappointment when they get in front of a real console and when they ask the real console guru how you set up recursive submasters the guru says "whaaayt? Or where you load the audio tracks...