GSA Training BA (hons)

Just leafing (as you do) through the Winter 2002 copy of ABTT update, and noticed that a GSA Training is offering a BA (Hons) in Stage Management and Technical Theatre - which can be completed in one year! (P34, top left) It's validated by the University of Surrey and appears to be a correspondance course of some kind.

Now, my Degree is in Theatre Design, not technology, but I really can't see how you could cram a course worthy of a Degree-level qualification into a single year. Is there something about this course that I'm missing? It would seem to devalue the whole concept of a Degree if they can be obtained in increasingly short time periods. I remember someone recently offering a 2-year course, and that seemed a little suspect to me.

I've e-mailed the chap for info, and will report back, but I wondered what everyone else's views were...?

I remember someone recently offering a 2-year course, and that seemed a little suspect to me.

Mountview is the one that offers the two year couse, mind you you've got to work your b*****ks off during those two years....

I suppose the only benefit of a one year course is you haven't got much money the debt wouldn't be all that big. (The paper today said the average debt could go up to £26,000 for a three year course, with top-up fees. And they want people to goto university to become our future?! :blink: )

Stu

It would seem to devalue the whole concept of a Degree if they can be obtained in increasingly short time periods.  I remember someone recently offering a 2-year course, and that seemed a little suspect to me.