Multiple Visuals On Multiple Screens

shellshox

Hi, am a newbie in this and need help!!

I'm doing a multi media theatre project and have been chosen to handle this just cos I know video editing...

The project consist of a "pulse" visual going from TV screen No.1 all the way to No.6 in one straight arrow. So that it looks as if the pulse is going from left to right, across 6 TV screens and back again to TV No.1.

And then at random points, the TV screens will fill up with various montages, making it seem as if each screen is showing a different channel, before converting back to the "pulse" visual.

Am wondering if there are any equipment that can output differnt video tracks to different screens and then combined the screen into 1 giant screen.

I have no experience with visual mixers or splitters so am not sure what it can or cannot do. Please help....

For a show on the ship that had a very similar effect, we used a video matrix (8x8) controlled by SMPTE timecode. (actually there was then a second 8x8, for some even cleverer stuff, but anway). takes ages to setup, even longer to programme, and costs a fortune.

Or you could take a look at the Digital Binloop from Alcorn McBride. That will do what you want. Reliably? Now that's another question..... :)

There are a group who have visited my old high school a few times called motivational media who did things like that. There were 2 different setups I saw - the first was a multi-headed computer system (ie multiple graphics cards) which were each plugged into a projector. The second they used sycronised dvd players.

Thanks for the all the help guys! Will go through all your advises. I went through each thread in the forum but couldn't find what I was looking for.

Bryson - Yeah, I think the video matrix is closer to what I think it should be but....

P.Funk - I think that's more to my budget and expertise, ha ha...