Work Experience/Placement

Hi Everyone,

I'm a Year 10 student (15) currently looking for work experience in a theatre or production environment. I'm very interested in lighting but would also be interested in other technical/stage management disciplines. I have designed and operated lighting for school productions of 'The Addams Family', 'School of Rock', 'The Great Gatsby' and 'The 39 Steps'. I have also designed and operated a 24 hour production of 'The Sound of Music' and have experience designing for talent shows and was follow-spot for a production of 'Honk!'. I'm also currently working on a design for 'Charlie and the Chocolate Factory'. 

Would anyone be willing to provide work experience in the Hampshire/London/Surrey area for the week June 24th to June 28th?  Or be able to share contacts/advice for securing a work experience place?

Many thanks,

Sam

Sadly, this will probably be a non-starter in any theatre who know the law. There are three places where it is illegal for people in school, so up to 16, to work.

Abatoirs - I get this one

Nightclubs - this too really, but

Theatres.

My local theatre were approached by the council for a work experience placement. I mentioned the law, they laughed and said don't worry - but then in five minutes, discovered it was accurate. It even applies to amateur theatre - unless chaperones and licences are done.

Of course you might find somewhere where they don't know ....... but what if there's an accident?

TV is OK, but theatres are on th naughty list.

Theatre is permissible if working on a youth-theatre production or if licensed by a performance licence (you won't get one of these for backstage work).

At the Rep we run a work experience week, which runs its own self contained performance, assisted by theatre professionals. We also run a large education/youth programme, which this year includes a backstage element, though we're only offering that to 18+ years of age.