Tom mic's

Mr.Si

So, now for my next question...

I'm looking to get some AKG 418's (the phantom powered version) because of their sheer lack of size and good reputation. - what would you guys/gals think of them?

has anyone used the Beyer Opus Mic's for Toms? or are there other mic's which are nice for them?

I'm aware of the 604's and the SM57's which I currently use.

Are there any others? - I'm not interested in the JTS mics.

How would the 418's do in recording? - I'm mainly a live engineer, but I'm recording this week and thinking of getting a couple of 418's for this purpose.

I find them a bit 'thin' for recording, but great for live - cut through fine. They are quite tough, but do tend to become a bit wobbly and loose. The cable is a little thin, and needs taping down to keep it tidy, gaffer not alway welcome on the shells of drums. I sometime use small cable ties on the tuning screws, this works ok. Don't forget the long length of the XLRs.

I find them a bit 'thin' for recording, but great for live

That was what my thought of them was initially. - talked to a drummer today and he said the college he went to, had them and they sounded good in recording.

I'd have thought a larger diaphragm'd mic would have been better

I have been exclusively using Shure SM98's (not the Beta versions) for a few years now. More than happy with them and they have other uses as well as on toms.

'Spose I'm lucky though, I get all Shure products on permanent loan from Shure. :)

http://www.warhogsaudioshop.com/ProductImages/product%20pictures/audix/D2.jpg

Its a fair bit bigger- didnt associate the number with what the AKG mic actually is, ** laughs out loud **. And yes, comes with clip.

And its D1 for snare, and D2 for toms.

tis a nice looking mic, - thought it looked larger! is it intrusive in the way that some mic's take up alot of space of the tom head and the drummer complains? or is it discrete?