Nothing lasts for ever

sandall

Thursday night, the  beacon-lighting in front of an expected 100 or so public turned out to be well over 500 in a complete circle, but that's another story. A request for a bit of music to fill at least half an hour, so out came the wind & strings compilation I've been using for at least 15 years. It sounded awful. Bearing in mind that this was a 2 horns, battery-powered amp & portable CD-player set-up in the middle of a park there were a lot of possible suspects. However a change to something more ceremonial sounded ok & the speeches were fine. Having checked everything next day it turned out that that particular CD (recordable CD-Audio) had failed since last used. Note to self: add all the CDs to the prep check-list (even if they have been recently used)!!

Edited by sandall
  • Like 1

On 6/4/2022 at 11:25 AM, sandall said:

Thursday night, the  beacon-lighting in front of an expected 100 or so public turned out to be well over 500 in a complete circle, but that's another story. A request for a bit of music to fill at least half an hour, so out came the wind & strings compilation I've been using for at least 15 years. It sounded awful. Bearing in mind that this was a 2 horns, battery-powered amp & portable CD-player set-up in the middle of a park there were a lot of possible suspects. However a change to something more ceremonial sounded ok & the speeches were fine. Having checked everything next day it turned out that that particular CD (recordable CD-Audio) had failed since last used. Note to self: add all the CDs to the prep check-list (even if they have been recently used)!!

You were lucky...

A few years ago for annual Mayor making, I checked the national anthem CD way before the event started and it was fine. pressing play when needed was just noise. Fortunately we always cue up a cassette in a different machine so 2 seconds of noise was all it took to hit plan B.