Need help with IR Camera Setup

Hi all,

As a preface, excuse my ignorance, my knowledge on video terminology is non-existent and I am a fundemental amateur!

I've bought what I thought to be the most appropriate camera to act as an IR 'Blackout Camera' for our school.

I bought this IR Camera

I then, bought this SDI to HDMI Converter

So with these components and a HDMI monitor, is there any possibility of a successful setup? If not, why and what do I need to make it work on a budget!

The camera has the option to select either: TVI, AHD, CVI and CVBS.....

I have followed all basic troubleshooting steps (checked the monitor and HDMI cable, the power sources, the cables.) and nothing on the monitor.

Any help would be greatly appreciated,

Owen

: )

It looks like the camera you have is analogue only. The convertor is digital to digital, suffice to say it won't work....

You need a composite video to HDMI convertor, which converts the analogue signal to a digital one.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/s?k=cvbs+to+hdmi&ref=nb_sb_noss_1

Other options may be possible, however I don't know much about the other standards you mention the camera can output.

Edited by sleah

TVI and AHD are both higher res analog systems (usually 720p, 960p, 1080p) which may be preferable to using SD composite video which usually looks horrible when converted to HDMI. For example this box from CPC will do AHD to HDMI

https://cpc.farnell.com//SR10891

Your camera says it's 1080p so you'd get a much better picture than using composite to HDMI.

As Simon says SDI is a digital system so you could swap the camera for one which outputs SDI, the quality you would get is much better than using the AHD/HDMI kludge.

Also, be aware that "infra red" cameras such as the one you have use infrared LEDs to illuminate the scene which only work fairly close to the camera. Depending how big the room is, you might need to add infrared illuminators to actually be able to see anything in darkness.