Timecode for dance show

Charlotte_R

I'm lighting a dance show in a couple of weeks, but unfortunately I won't be able to op it. I have quite a lot of cues (80+ for about 30 minutes of music so far, and I have 15 more minutes to go), so I was wondering about timecoding it as it's all to pre-recorded music.

Unfortunately, I've never used timecode before.

In terms of equipment, I have a windows laptop with a Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 (with Midi in / out) and an ETC element. I may be able to borrow a mac with Qlab. Sadly, the lighting op will be on their own - there is nobody calling the show.

So my questions are as follows:

1. Is it worth the time and effort to programme up timecode for a run of two shows?
  2. What's the best software to play the music and get the timecode out of a Windows laptop, or should I try to get hold of a laptop with Q-lab on it?
  3. What's the best way to set it all up? Does anyone have a link to a tutorial?

Thanks,

Charlotte

I've been doing dance for a long time. On a professional show, with proper theatrical rehearsals, I'd be happy with timecode. On an amateur dance school style show, I'd never risk it. I cannot think of one of these in the recent equipment years where timecode would have worked. So many end up needing LX to be very separate from sound. The usual culprit is simply lack of proper planning by the dance teachers, many who simply do not understand anything technical or have any appreciation of proper staging.