Digital Radio Mics

fincaman

Hello all, I have some G3s and a D1835S 2.4 ghz Sennheiser hand held radio mics the performance of both is great. I need two more and am torn between the two and as the D1835S are less expensive I was thinking of buying them' are there any disadvantages of using the 2.4ghz band ?

The biggest drawback with 2.4GHz is that lots of other stuff uses the same band, including an audiences-worth of mobile phones and hotspots.

Unlike many network-oriented tasks, radio mics are time critical. They can't just wait for a moment if there's interference from elsewhere. I've no direct experience of the Sennheiser model but I'd be very surprised if it wasn't decent. My concern would be more that it would knock out other services and make you unpopular.

There's not *that* much difference in price between the two so I'd be tempted to see the G3 as a safer purchase. Sennheiser obviously see a market for something in 2.4GHz band, or they wouldn't have put the R&D time into coming up with this, ut if you're touring into largely unknown venues with multiple systems then I'd be really surprised if you didn't come across a problem at some point.

MY biggest worry with 2.4GHz kit is the difference between the rehearsal wireless spectrum use and the show channel use with all the added bodies to absorb RF and personal wifi to transmit what to you will be jamming clutter, OR that your high power network will disable other essential wifi use in the venue.

OR that your high power network will disable other essential wifi use in the venue.

I've come across that at least twice. At a corporate gig, the audience response system couldn't work alongside some Line6 2.4GHz systems. We got the call to rush down some G3 to them. Another time, the house lights were on 2.4GHz and couldn't be controlled whilst transmitters were on.