UPS for digital desk

parky58

I have been using A&H digital desks (GLD and QU16) for about 5 years and just bought an SQ5. These are used with a n AR2412 and AR84. On a couple of occasions I have suffered (I think) from momentary mains drop-out or spikes which has made the desk/stagebox reboot. I was wondering about buying one or more cost effective UPS's, preferably 1U rack mount, but not essentially. I would welcome recommendations bearing in mind 500VA would be sufficient and only needs to provide mains continuity for up to 5 mins.

At that end of the market, APC is probably a good bet. What’s the total load?

Remember, any decent UPS is going to be heavy.

For portable stuff, I’ve used these before http://www.apc.com/shop/uk/en/products/APC-Power-Saving-Back-UPS-700VA-230V-BS1363/P-BE700G-UK - lightweight, and the output is on 13A sockets rather than the more usual IEC. But they’re rated at 400W (700VA) and at full load they’ll only run for about 4 mins. Fine for cleaning up a supply and overcoming small glitches.

I generally work at the opposite end of the scale - the last UPS I specced was rated at several hundred kVA and needed the floor to be reinforced - a couple of tons of batteries. But that’s for data centre work.

For portable stuff, I've used these before http://www.apc.com/s...363/P-BE700G-UK - lightweight, and the output is on 13A sockets rather than the more usual IEC. But they're rated at 400W (700VA) and at full load they'll only run for about 4 mins. Fine for cleaning up a supply and overcoming small glitches.

Thanks for this. It looks ideal for what I want.

1517322195[/url]' post='559245']

But check that it has the capacity to power your rig, with a bit of headroom.

I only need it for the desk (75W), lighting desk (50W) and another for the stage box. This is just to avoid glitches.