Shocking amps

cobalt6700

Hi. bit of a wierd story me. how many drummers do you know, that fix leads, tune guitars, fix guitars, set up PA systems, and be a genral technician. plus being able to drum at grade 6. ** laughs out loud **, well thats me.

Being a technician, I have been trying to work out why my bassists PA system shocks us when we sing. u basicly just get a shock on your lip. or tounge. not nice when you trying to sing. <_<

Has anyone else had this problem??? do you have any ideas how to sort it. I have some of my own, but I dont know if it can do it (like it might bust the PA's)

Now im only 16 here, so I need a bit of advise from some of you older more experinecd technicians. :P

My own idea consists of:

On the 3 pin XLR plugs pin 1 donates a ground, where pins 2 and 3 are signal wires. I was looing at the insides of a female XLR, and it seems the push pin, pins 1 and 3 are all linked. hold on I thaught, does this not mean electrical info can get to the casing of the mic?

so by isolating pin 3 from the ground, will this not illiminate the electrical infomation getting to the case of the mic? :unsure:

What I DONT know is, does the PS need pin 3 to be connected to the ground. I have included some pics below.

wiring diagram

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v248/cobalt6700/Micconnections1.jpg

Mic lead

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v248/cobalt6700/Micconnections2.jpg

Any ideas would be great.

Thanks

Gaz

I'll second the other Peter.

Your bassist has a mains earth not connected somewhere in his setup.

Start at the wall socket he plugs in at and work your way through each mains lead/4 gang in the chain with a continuity meter. If you don't find a missing earth there then have a look at his amplifiers, maybe some fool lifted the earth inside them.

Get it fixed, it is potentially very dangerous.