Trantec Mic-Prog & Windows-7

sandall

Has anyone managed to make Trantec's mic programming software work with Windows-7, using a USB-parallel lead (or should I just bin the lead & hope that my Windows-98 machine discovers the secret of everlasting life)?

It's pretty unlikely that the USB-parallel lead will work sadly. It doesn't give you a real parallel port (in the low level way in which Trantec probably use it), instead it gives just enough bits from a parallel port to allow the printer protocol to be faked over it. This works for printers, but pretty much nothing else. The lead actually presents itself to the OS as a USB printer, then fudges the data out to the pins.

I should stress I have no specific knowledge of the Trantec kit (it being unobtainum) - but that was advice I got when I looked at this for other parallel port hardware. XP machine with real parallel port or add a parallel port slot card to the Windows 7 machine?

Even a real parallel port probably won't work with W7 as direct port writes can't be done any more, you have to go through a driver layer which the Trantec software won't be expecting. I believe this was introduced in Vista so XP should work.

It's pretty unlikely that the USB-parallel lead will work sadly. It doesn't give you a real parallel port (in the low level way in which Trantec probably use it), instead it gives just enough bits from a parallel port to allow the printer protocol to be faked over it. This works for printers, but pretty much nothing else. The lead actually presents itself to the OS as a USB printer, then fudges the data out to the pins.