Bought an Illusion 500

Amy Worrall

IMG_6085.jpg

It replaces a Sirius 24 for controlling my collection of cheap Chinese LED PARs (plus a few fresnels and profiles).

I snapped it up when I saw it on Ebay. I've alway been a Zero88 fan, and I was rather curious about the cueline interface. (Which I haven't been able to try out yet, since my PS/2 mouse is broken.) Also, I'm a collector of vintage tech in various forms, so why not lighting desks as well? (I recently gave a conference talk from a 23 year old laptop…)

Initial verdict: there's a lot of nuances to get used to! I thought the command line would be more omnipresent, like it is on the ETC Ion, so I keep looking for things like a "Go To Cue" button. It seems you can recall the state of a cue by "Memory 1 @ 100", but the command line doesn't let you navigate the cue stack itself.

It'll also take me a while to get used to the way it handles colour as LTP values, so no mixing it via subs. I did know that before buying, but it's still a bit bizarre to use… for an actual show I'll probably mainly use palettes and groups.

But overall I'm very pleased. I was looking to replace the Sirius because the LED PARs eat up the channels. For my budget, I was expecting to just end up with something with a few more faders, possibly to spring for a Fat Frog if I managed to splurge. But for £200 I've got something that can individually address all my LED PARs, and has a cue stack that's much easier to run a show from.

I was rather curious about the cueline interface. (Which I haven't been able to try out yet, since my PS/2 mouse is broken.)

I'd be interested in what you think about it, as it was slightly "ahead of it's time" when it was released. Every so often there's conversations about resurrecting the feature

I'd be interested in what you think about it, as it was slightly "ahead of it's time" when it was released. Every so often there's conversations about resurrecting the feature