Event Electrician qualifications

HI there,

I am just wondering if there are and if so what qualifications would be needed to do the electrical side of things at live events, (gigs, festivals etc)

I have a masters degree in electronics engineering, pat test qualification ( I know this wouldn't count in any slightest) and 5 years experience in the industry, but where my degree mainly dealt with extra low voltage and low currents in the digital domain I'm not sure if it would mean I'm necessarily qualified handling the generator, power distribution side of things at for instance festivals.

anyone able to offer some advice?

thanks in advance,

matt

It is more like a suite of things rather than a single piece of paper, at least where festival work is concerned.

C&G 2365 level 3, 17th edition, BS 7909 are all more than handy but skills and skill tickets can be just as necessary. You will find a need for straight mast and telehandler tickets, MEWP ticket, HIAB ticket, some version of safety card, the ability to move a truck around site, know how to bleed a diesel engine and more.

Why not give one of the event power companies a call, The Powerline/Firefly/Gofer, and ask them?

The issue usually is that most courses assume that the supply company's contractors have terminated the underground cables to fused (and metered) connections for either three wire (LNE 240v) or five wire (L1,L2,L3, N and E) so they barely touch on this, which is exactly what you need to know. The generator turns (usually) diesel into safely usable electricity so fuel management, diesel engine management will come into your world as will earthing regimes and conductor sizing and all the distro and RCD and overload protection. BS 7909 is the specific standard. Some knowledge and some experience is essential.

1460736541[/url]' post='537370']

HI there,