First gig!

Marb

I've been working in and around the entertainment industry for a while, and have just been offered my first gig as a freelancer on the lighting team. I've worked as local crew before, and in small venues, but never on a big arena show.

Apart from turning up on time, what advice would the more experienced BR members offer, both for the gig, and for the prep days?

Thanks in advance,

Marb :)

Yup, that's done, so I should be good to go :)

Does anyone have any advice so I can hit the ground running, especially with regards to any of the following:

1) Things that will really impress/annoy the crew chief and more experienced freelancers

2) Working with/managing local crew

3) Things that will be expected of me that I might not realise

4) Things I should take with me

5) Things I should make sure I know/find out

6) Things I don't even realise I should know, because I'm new to this game and you guys are all seasoned professionals

Thanks! :)

Probably one of the best 'tricks' is knowing how to look busier than you are.

I'd stop worrying, because our industry is so varied there are always new things. The important bit is understanding the jargon, and recognising the bits and pieces. Nothing annoys people as much as having to explain things. Be nice, be normal, and if your role is not majorly technical a leatherman is probably enough, with tools available if required. Just make sure you know the names of bits and pieces, and watch out for how things come, so they get packed away the same way. Make sure the really basic things are sorted - like coiling cables, how to do up a Socapex, or identifying connectors. I'm sure you can do this - but just make sure.

First gig? Difficult.

Two ears, two eyes. two hands, two legs, one mouth; use it in proportion.

Never pretend you know if you don't; ask.

Never leave tools lying around, always return anything you use to where it came from/belongs.